跳到主要内容

危险品法规:变更和更新

监管更新

ER 指南 V2

 

紧急响应电话号码指南的全球监管要求

下载您的副本

 

运送到墨西哥指南 V2

 

 

运送到墨西哥指南

下载您的副本

 

USPS 于 30 月 52 日在 Pub XNUMX 上发布的最终规则

30 年 2022 月 52 日,美国邮政总局 (USPS) 发布了修订其危险品邮政条例第 52 号出版物的最终规则,涵盖使用过、损坏或有缺陷的含有或包装锂电池的电子设备。 USPS 将这些产品的邮寄限制为仅限地面运输,禁止通过空运邮寄。 这些包裹必须标有“受限电子设备”和“仅限地面运输”,以及所有其他必需的标记和标签。 此更改立即生效。 此禁令不适用于原始包装中的新设备或制造的经过认证的新/翻新设备。 USPS 指出,空运包裹中包含未正确包装和标记的用过/有缺陷的锂电池的事件持续增加。 Pub XNUMX 中的新限制旨在保护公众和 USPS 员工的安全。  

了解 CHEMTREC 的 CRITERION 如何提供帮助

国际航协第 64 版(2023 年)重大变更和修订

修改了锂电池标志,取消了在标志上提供电话号码的要求。 在 31 年 2026 月 63 日之前有一个过渡期,在此期间 XNUMX 中显示的标记rd DGR 的版本可以继续使用。

了解 CHEMTREC 的 CRITERION 如何提供帮助

PHMSA 关于电子危险通信替代方案的信息请求 (RFI) – 11 年 2022 月 XNUMX 日

11 年 2022 月 XNUMX 日,DOT 管道和危险品安全管理局 发布信息请求 (RFI) 关于电子危险通信替代方案。 PHMSA 正在寻求有关电子通信的潜在用途的意见,以替代当前对危险通信的物理文件要求。 PHMSA 预计电子通信将通过提供对纸质文件当前要求的相同信息的电子访问来提高运输安全性、效率和有效性。

评论最初应在 9 年 2022 月 24 日之前提交给联邦案卷。但是,DOT 已将评论期延长至 2022 年 XNUMX 月 XNUMX 日。

了解我们的危险品应急响应服务

美国邮政服务更改了包含锂电池和其他危险品的电子设备的运输规则 - 6 年 2022 月 XNUMX 日

6 年 2022 月 XNUMX 日,美国邮政总局发布了一份 临时最终规则 修订其危险品邮政法规,第 52 号出版物,处理包含或包装锂电池的二手、损坏和有缺陷的电子设备。 USPS 将这些产品的邮寄限制为仅限地面运输,并且禁止通过空运邮寄。 除了所有其他必需的标记和标签外,这些包裹还必须标有“受限电子设备”和“仅限地面运输”。 此更改立即生效,但是,USPS 将在 6 年 2022 月 XNUMX 日之前接受对临时最终规则的评论。独立电池不受这些新规则的约束。

USPS 指出,涉及包含锂电池和其他危险品但未正确标记并提供空运的包裹的事件持续增加。 Pub 52 中的新限制旨在保护公众和 USPS 员工的安全。

了解我们的锂电池解决方案

PHMSA 关于商业运输中锂电池处置和回收的安全咨询通知 - 17 年 2022 月 XNUMX 日

17 年 2022 月 XNUMX 日,PHMSA 发布了 安全咨询通知 关于运输锂电池进行回收或处置的相关危险,以提高公众的整体意识。 PHMSA 表示,它的危险材料调查人员经常看到托运人和承运人不正确地包装和运输锂电池以进行处置或回收。 此类危险包括锂电池包装不当以防止短路,将损坏的锂电池与同一包装中的其他电池混合,以及在包装内容标识不当的情况下将电池托盘装载在盒子和桶中运输。

了解我们的锂电池解决方案

锂电池 UN 38.3 测试总结 - 1 年 2022 月 XNUMX 日

PHMSA,有害物质法规(HMR;49 CFR,第 171-180 部分)。 最终规则,11 年 2020 月 XNUMX 日.

自 1 年 2022 月 38.3 日起,对于提供运输的锂电池芯和电池,制造商必须根据要求提供测试摘要。 测试摘要必须包括基于联合国测试和标准手册第 1 节概述的测试报告结果的特定元素列表。 该要求包括 2008 年 1 月 2008 日之后制造的所有电池芯和电池。该 PHMSA 规则在两个方面不同于国际要求。 首先,它涵盖了 38.3 年 2003 月 2020 日之后制造的电池,而 UN 2022 可以追溯到 XNUMX 年。另一个区别是合规日期。 PHMSA 将其合规日期从 XNUMX 年延长至 XNUMX 年 XNUMX 月。

了解 CHEMTREC 的 CRITERION 如何提供帮助

锂电池和电池组包装说明的变更 - 2022 年 XNUMX 月

IATA 危险品条例 (DGR),第 63 版(2022 年)

从 2022 年 965 月开始,包装说明 968 和 965 已修订以删除第 II 部分。 小型锂离子和锂金属电池和电池芯将根据包装说明 968 和包装说明 3(如适用)的第 IB 部分进行包装。 有 31 个月的过渡期到 2022 年 XNUMX 月 XNUMX 日,以遵守此更改。 在此期间,托运人可以继续使用第 II 部分。

了解我们的锂电池解决方案

为海运做准备的危险货物仓库储存的新国际安全指南 - 2021 年 XNUMX 月

针对近期中国天津(2015 年)和黎巴嫩贝鲁特(2020 年)等涉及危险货物不当储存的仓库事件,ICCHA、IVODGA、国家货运局和世界航运理事会等组织联盟发布了一份 指导文件 以 2021 年 XNUMX 月的白皮书形式发布。该文件涵盖了仓库建设、运营、消防、安全和应急响应等主题,并得到了港口运营商、保险公司和协会等行业利益相关者的认可。 它也已提交给海事监管机构和 IMO,以考虑将其纳入国际要求。

了解我们的 Hazmat 一般、安全和安保意识在线培训课程

TSA 宣布对国际全货运航班进行 100% 筛查 - 30 年 2021 月 XNUMX 日

30 年 2021 月 100 日,TSA 宣布所有进口商、出口商、承运商和货运代理必须遵守 ICAO 安全要求,对所有国际全货运航班进行 2010% 筛查。 要求包括检查货物以识别和/或检测隐藏的爆炸物,并制定供应链安全控制措施以防止将隐藏的爆炸物引入航空货物。 该规则并不是新规则,自 14 年以来一直适用于商用客机上的货物。因此,TSA 于 2021 年 XNUMX 月 XNUMX 日发布了 联邦公报公告 86,第 112 号 FR 31512,宣布安全包装设施 (SPF) 计划。 

了解我们的危险品 IATA 航空运输培训在线课程

OSHA 关于锂离子电池作为物品的解释 - 23 年 2021 月 XNUMX 日

OSHA 危险通信标准,29 CFR 1910.1200。 日期为 23 年 2021 月 XNUMX 日的解释函。

23 年 2021 月 XNUMX 日,OSHA 发布了 解释信 响应欧洲便携式电池协会的澄清,它不认为锂离子电池是危险通信标准 (HCS) 下的“物品”,因此不能免除安全数据表的要求。 OSHA 表示,它基于公共和政府信息来源做出决定,这些信息来源表明锂离子电池故障会在正常使用和可预见的紧急情况下对工人造成火灾/物理危害和有毒接触危害(例如,锂、钴)。

了解我们的 OSHA 危害通信标准在线培训课程

锂电池作为客机上的货物、充电状态和替代包装规定 - 6 年 2019 月 XNUMX 日

PHMSA 临时最终规则,March 6,2019。         

该临时最终规则 (IFR) 立即生效,将 HMR 修订为 (1) 禁止将锂离子电池芯和电池作为货物在客机上运输; (2) 要求所有锂离子电池芯和电池在仅载货飞机上以不超过 30% 的充电状态运输; (3) 将小型锂电池或电池组的替代规定的使用限制为每批货物一个包裹。 修正案不会限制乘客或机组人员将个人物品或含有锂电池或电池的电子设备带上飞机,也不会限制与设备包装或包含在设备中的锂离子电池或电池的航空运输。                

了解我们的锂电池解决方案

本网站包含指向其他第三方网站的链接。 此类链接仅为读者、用户或浏览器提供方便; CHEMTREC, LLC 不推荐或认可第三方网站的内容。

本网站提供的信息不构成也不旨在构成法律或监管建议; 相反,本网站上提供的所有信息、内容和材料仅用于一般信息目的。 虽然 CHEMTREC 努力使这些信息保持最新,但本网站上的信息可能不构成最新的法律或监管信息。 本网站的读者应联系其律师或监管专家以获取有关任何特定事项的建议。 特此明确声明,对于根据本网站内容采取或不采取的行动的所有责任。

    需要报价

    估算CHEMTREC响应服务。

    开始报价

Skip to main content

Dangerous Goods Regulations: Changes and Updates

Regulatory Updates

ER Guide V2

 

 

Global Regulatory Requirements for Emergency Response Telephone Numbers Guide

Download Your Copy

 

Shipping to Mexico Guide V2

 

 

 

Shipping to Mexico Guide

Download Your Copy

 

U.S. Postal Service issues Final Rule for Shipping Electronic Devices Containing Lithium Batteries and Other Hazmat – November 30, 2022

On November 30, 2022, the United States Postal Service (USPS) published a Final Rule revising its Hazmat Postal Regulations, Publication 52, covering used, damaged, or defective electronic devices containing or packed with lithium batteries. The USPS is limiting the mailing of these products to surface transportation only and are prohibited from being mailed via airfreight. These packages must be marked “Restricted Electronic Device” and "Surface Transportation Only", in addition to all other required markings and labels. This change takes effect immediately. This prohibition does not apply to new devices in original packaging or manufactured certified new/refurbished devices. USPS cites a consistent increase in incidents involving packages being offered for air transport containing used/defective lithium batteries that have not been properly packaged and labeled. The new restrictions in Pub 52 are designed to protect the safety of the public as well as USPS employees.  

Learn How CRITERION by CHEMTREC Can Help

IATA Significant Changes and Amendments in the 64th Edition (2023)

The lithium battery mark has been revised to remove the requirement for a telephone number to be provided on the mark. There is a transition period until December 31, 2026 during which time the mark shown in the 63rd edition of the DGR may continue to be used.

Learn More About Our Lithium Battery Shipping Service

PHMSA Request for Information (RFI) on Electronic Hazard Communication Alternatives – July 11, 2022

On July 11, 2022, the DOT Pipeline and Hazardous Materials Safety Administration published a Request for Information (RFI) on Electronic Hazard Communication Alternatives. PHMSA is seeking input on the potential use of electronic communications as an alternative to the current, physical documentation requirements for hazard communication. PHMSA anticipates that electronic communication would improve transportation safety, efficiency, and effectiveness by providing electronic access to the same information as currently required under paper documentation.

Comments were due into the Federal Docket by October 24, 2022. To see all comments received go to: Hazardous Materials: Request for Information on Electronic Hazard Communication Alternatives; Extension of Comment Period | PHMSA (dot.gov)

Learn About Our Hazmat Emergency Response Services

PHMSA Safety Advisory Notice for the Disposal and Recycling of Lithium Batteries in Commercial Transportation - May 17, 2022

On May 17, 2022, PHMSA issued a Safety Advisory Notice about the dangers related to shipping lithium batteries for recycling or disposal to increase the public’s overall awareness.  PHMSA states that it’s hazardous materials investigators routinely saw shippers and carriers improperly package and ship lithium batteries for disposal or recycling. Such dangers included the improper packaging of lithium batteries as not to prevent short circuits, mixing damaged lithium batteries with other batteries in the same packaging, and shipping pallet loads of batteries in boxes and drums with inappropriate identification of package contents.

Learn About Our Lithium Battery Solutions

Lithium Battery UN 38.3 Test Summaries - January 1, 2022

PHMSA, Hazardous Materials Regulations (HMR; 49 C.F.R., Parts 171-180). Final Rule, May 11, 2020.

Effective January 1, 2022, for lithium cells and batteries being offered for transport, manufacturers must make available a test summary upon request. The test summary must include a list of specific elements based on the results of the test report outlined under section 38.3 of the UN Manual of Tests and Criteria. This requirement includes all cells and batteries manufactured after January 1, 2008. This PHMSA rule differs from international requirements in two ways. First, it covers batteries manufactured after Jan. 1, 2008, whereas UN 38.3 goes back to 2003. The other difference is the compliance date. PHMSA extended their compliance date from 2020 to January 2022.

Learn How CRITERION by CHEMTREC Can Help

Changes to Packing Instructions for Lithium Cells and Batteries - January 2022

IATA Dangerous Goods Regulations (DGR), 63rd Edition (2022)

Starting January 2022, packing instructions 965 and 968 have been revised to remove Section II. Small lithium ion and lithium metal batteries and cells will be packaged in accordance with Section IB of Packing Instruction 965 and Packing Instruction 968, as applicable. There is a 3-month transition period to March 31, 2022, to comply with this change. During which time shippers may continue to use Section II.

Learn About Our Lithium Battery Solutions

New International Safety Guidelines for Warehouse Storage of Dangerous Goods in Preparation for Sea-Transport - December 2021

In response to recent warehouse incidents involving improper storage of dangerous goods, including Tianjin, China (2015) and Beirut, Lebanon (2020), a coalition of organizations including ICHCA, IVODGA, National Cargo Bureau, and the World Shipping Council has published a guidance document in the form of a White Paper in December 2021. The document covers topics on warehouse construction, operations, fire protection, security and emergency response and has been endorsed by industry stakeholders such as port operators, insurance companies and associations. It has also been submitted to maritime regulators and the IMO for consideration to be included in international requirements.

Learn About Our Hazmat General, Safety and Security Awareness Online Training Course

TSA Announces 100% Screening of International All-Cargo Flights - June 30, 2021

On June 30, 2021, TSA announced that all Importers, Exporters, Carriers, and Freight Forwarders must comply with the ICAO security requirements for 100% screening of all international all-cargo flights. Requirements include screening of cargo to identify and/or detect hidden explosives and institute supply chain security controls that prevent the introduction of concealed explosives into air cargo. This rule is not new and has been in effect for cargo on commercial passenger aircraft since 2010. As a result,  on June 14, 2021, TSA published Federal Register Notice 86, No 112 FR 31512, announcing the Secured Packing Facility (SPF) program. 

Learn About Our Dangerous Goods IATA Training for Air Transportation Online Course

OSHA Interpretation Regarding Lithium-Ion Batteries as Articles - June 23, 2021

OSHA Hazard Communications Standard, 29 CFR 1910.1200. Letter of Interpretation dated June 23, 2021.

On June 23, 2021, OSHA published an Interpretation Letter responding to the European Portable Battery Association providing clarification that it does not consider lithium-ion batteries to be "articles" under the Hazard Communications Standard (HCS) and are therefore not exempt from the requirement for a Safety Data Sheet. OSHA has stated that it based its decision on public and government information sources showing that lithium-ion battery failure can present a fire/physical hazard and a toxic exposure hazard (e.g., lithium, cobalt) to workers during normal use and foreseeable emergencies.

Learn About Our OSHA Hazard Communication Standard Online Training Course

Lithium Batteries as Cargo on Passenger Aircraft, State of Charge and Alternative Packaging Provisions - March 6, 2019

PHMSA Interim Final Rule, March 6, 2019.         

This interim final rule (IFR) which becomes effective immediately amends the HMR to (1) prohibit the transport of lithium-ion cells and batteries as cargo on passenger aircraft; (2) requires all lithium ion cells and batteries to be shipped at not more than a 30 % state of charge on cargo-only aircraft; and (3) limits the use of alternative provisions for small lithium cell or batteries to one package per consignment. The amendments will not restrict passengers or crew members from bringing personal items or electronic devices containing lithium cells or batteries aboard aircraft or restrict the air transport of lithium-ion cells or batteries when packed with or contained in equipment.                

Learn About Our Lithium Battery Solutions

This website contains links to other third-party websites. Such links are only for the convenience of the reader, user or browser; CHEMTREC, LLC does not recommend or endorse the contents of the third-party sites.

The information provided on this website does not, and is not intended to, constitute legal or regulatory advice; instead, all information, content, and materials available on this site are for general information purposes only. While CHEMTREC strives to keep this information current, information on this website may not constitute the most up-to-date legal or regulatory information. Readers of this website should contact their attorney or regulatory expert to obtain advice with respect to any particular matter. All liability with respect to actions taken or not taken based on the contents of this site are hereby expressly disclaimed.

    Request A Quote

    Get an estimate for CHEMTREC response services.

    Start A Quote