Direkt zum Inhalt

Gefahrgutvorschriften: Änderungen und Aktualisierungen

Zulassungsaktualisierungen

ER-Leitfaden V2

 

Globale regulatorische Anforderungen für Notfall-Telefonnummern-Leitfaden

Laden Sie Ihre Kopie herunter

 

Versand nach Mexiko Guide V2

 

 

Versand nach Mexiko Guide

Laden Sie Ihre Kopie herunter

 

Der US-Postdienst ändert die Regeln für den Versand elektronischer Geräte, die Lithiumbatterien und andere Gefahrstoffe enthalten – 6. Juni 2022

Am 6. Juni 2022 veröffentlichte der United States Postal Service eine Vorläufige Schlussregel Überarbeitung seiner Hazmat Postal Regulations, Publikation 52, die sich mit gebrauchten, beschädigten und defekten elektronischen Geräten befasst, die Lithiumbatterien enthalten oder mit diesen verpackt sind. Der USPS beschränkt den Versand dieser Produkte nur auf den Landtransport und darf nicht per Luftfracht verschickt werden. Diese Verpackungen müssen zusätzlich zu allen anderen erforderlichen Markierungen und Etiketten mit „eingeschränktes elektronisches Gerät“ und „Nur Oberflächentransport“ gekennzeichnet sein. Diese Änderung tritt sofort in Kraft, USPS akzeptiert jedoch bis zum 6. Juli 2022 Kommentare zur vorläufigen endgültigen Regel. Eigenständige Batterien unterliegen diesen neuen Regeln nicht.

USPS weist auf eine stetige Zunahme von Vorfällen hin, bei denen Pakete mit Lithiumbatterien und anderen Gefahrstoffen, die nicht ordnungsgemäß gekennzeichnet sind und für den Lufttransport angeboten werden, involviert sind. Die neuen Beschränkungen in Pub 52 sollen die Sicherheit der Öffentlichkeit sowie der USPS-Mitarbeiter schützen.

Erfahren Sie mehr über unsere Lithium-Batterie-Lösungen

PHMSA-Sicherheitshinweis für die Entsorgung und das Recycling von Lithiumbatterien im gewerblichen Transport – 17. Mai 2022

Am 17. Mai 2022 gab PHMSA a Sicherheitshinweis über die Gefahren im Zusammenhang mit dem Versand von Lithiumbatterien zum Recycling oder zur Entsorgung, um das allgemeine Bewusstsein der Öffentlichkeit zu schärfen. Die PHMSA gibt an, dass ihre Ermittler für gefährliche Materialien routinemäßig Versender und Spediteure dabei beobachteten, wie sie Lithiumbatterien zur Entsorgung oder zum Recycling unsachgemäß verpackten und versendeten. Zu diesen Gefahren gehörten das unsachgemäße Verpacken von Lithium-Batterien, um Kurzschlüsse nicht zu verhindern, das Mischen beschädigter Lithium-Batterien mit anderen Batterien in derselben Verpackung und das Versenden von Palettenladungen von Batterien in Kisten und Fässern mit unangemessener Kennzeichnung des Verpackungsinhalts.

Erfahren Sie mehr über unsere Lithium-Batterie-Lösungen

Lithiumbatterie UN 38.3 Testzusammenfassungen – 1. Januar 2022

PHMSA, Vorschriften für gefährliche Materialien (HMR; 49 CFR, Teile 171-180). Endgültige Regel, 11. Mai 2020.

Für Lithium-Zellen und -Batterien, die zum Transport angeboten werden, müssen die Hersteller ab dem 1. Januar 2022 auf Anfrage eine Testzusammenfassung zur Verfügung stellen. Die Testzusammenfassung muss eine Liste spezifischer Elemente enthalten, die auf den Ergebnissen des Testberichts basieren, der in Abschnitt 38.3 des UN Manual of Tests and Criteria beschrieben ist. Diese Anforderung umfasst alle Zellen und Batterien, die nach dem 1. Januar 2008 hergestellt wurden. Diese PHMSA-Regel unterscheidet sich in zweierlei Hinsicht von den internationalen Anforderungen. Erstens umfasst es Batterien, die nach dem 1. Januar 2008 hergestellt wurden, während UN 38.3 auf das Jahr 2003 zurückgeht. Der andere Unterschied ist das Konformitätsdatum. PHMSA verlängerte ihr Compliance-Datum von 2020 auf Januar 2022.

Erfahren Sie, wie CRITERION by CHEMTREC helfen kann

Änderungen der Verpackungsanweisungen für Lithiumzellen und -batterien – Januar 2022

IATA-Gefahrgutvorschriften (DGR), 63. Ausgabe (2022)

Ab Januar 2022 wurden die Verpackungsanweisungen 965 und 968 überarbeitet, um Abschnitt II zu entfernen. Kleine Lithium-Ionen- und Lithium-Metall-Batterien und -Zellen werden gemäß Abschnitt IB der Verpackungsanweisung 965 und Verpackungsanweisung 968 verpackt. Es gibt eine 3-monatige Übergangsfrist bis zum 31. März 2022, um dieser Änderung gerecht zu werden. Während dieser Zeit können Versender Abschnitt II weiterhin verwenden.

Erfahren Sie mehr über unsere Lithium-Batterie-Lösungen

Neue internationale Sicherheitsrichtlinien für die Lagerhaltung gefährlicher Güter in Vorbereitung auf den Seetransport – Dezember 2021

Als Reaktion auf die jüngsten Lagervorfälle mit unsachgemäßer Lagerung gefährlicher Güter, darunter Tianjin, China (2015) und Beirut, Libanon (2020), hat eine Koalition von Organisationen wie ICHCA, IVODGA, National Cargo Bureau und dem World Shipping Council eine Leitfaden in Form eines Weißbuchs im Dezember 2021. Das Dokument behandelt Themen zu Lagerbau, Betrieb, Brandschutz, Sicherheit und Notfallmaßnahmen und wurde von Branchenakteuren wie Hafenbetreibern, Versicherungen und Verbänden gebilligt. Es wurde auch den Seeaufsichtsbehörden und der IMO vorgelegt, damit es in die internationalen Anforderungen aufgenommen werden kann.

Erfahren Sie mehr über unseren Hazmat-Allgemein-, Sicherheits- und Sicherheitsbewusstseins-Online-Schulungskurs

TSA kündigt 100-prozentige Kontrolle internationaler Frachtflüge an – 30. Juni 2021

Am 30. Juni 2021 gab die TSA bekannt, dass alle Importeure, Exporteure, Spediteure und Spediteure die ICAO-Sicherheitsanforderungen für eine 100%ige Überprüfung aller internationalen Frachtflüge erfüllen müssen. Zu den Anforderungen gehören die Überprüfung der Fracht, um versteckte Sprengstoffe zu identifizieren und/oder aufzudecken, und die Einführung von Sicherheitskontrollen in der Lieferkette, die das Einbringen von versteckten Sprengstoffen in die Luftfracht verhindern. Diese Regel ist nicht neu und gilt seit 2010 für Fracht auf kommerziellen Passagierflugzeugen. Als Ergebnis veröffentlichte die TSA am 14. Juni 2021 Federal Register Notice 86, Nr. 112 FR 31512, das das Secured Packing Facility (SPF)-Programm ankündigt. 

Erfahren Sie mehr über unseren Online-Kurs für Gefahrgut-IATA-Schulung für den Luftverkehr

OSHA-Interpretation zu Lithium-Ionen-Batterien als Artikel – 23. Juni 2021

OSHA Hazard Communications Standard, 29 CFR 1910.1200. Auslegungsschreiben vom 23. Juni 2021.

Am 23. Juni 2021 veröffentlichte OSHA eine Interpretationsbrief als Antwort auf die Erklärung der European Portable Battery Association, dass sie Lithium-Ionen-Batterien nicht als „Erzeugnisse“ im Sinne des Hazard Communications Standards (HCS) betrachtet und daher nicht von der Anforderung eines Sicherheitsdatenblatts ausgenommen sind. Die OSHA hat erklärt, dass sie ihre Entscheidung auf öffentlichen und staatlichen Informationsquellen stützt, die zeigen, dass ein Versagen von Lithium-Ionen-Batterien bei normalem Gebrauch und vorhersehbaren Notfällen eine Feuer-/physische Gefahr und eine Gefahr durch toxische Exposition (z. B. Lithium, Kobalt) für Arbeiter darstellen kann.

Erfahren Sie mehr über unseren OSHA-Standard-Online-Schulungskurs zur Gefahrenkommunikation

Lithiumbatterien als Fracht in Passagierflugzeugen, Ladezustand und alternative Verpackungsvorschriften – 6. März 2019

PHMSA Vorläufige SchlussregelMärz 6, 2019.         

Diese vorläufige endgültige Regel (IFR), die sofort in Kraft tritt, ändert die HMR dahingehend, dass (1) der Transport von Lithium-Ionen-Zellen und -Batterien als Fracht in Passagierflugzeugen verboten ist; (2) verlangt, dass alle Lithium-Ionen-Zellen und -Batterien mit einem Ladezustand von höchstens 30 % in reinen Frachtflugzeugen transportiert werden; und (3) beschränkt die Verwendung alternativer Bestimmungen für kleine Lithiumzellen oder -batterien auf ein Versandstück pro Sendung. Durch die Änderungen werden Passagiere oder Besatzungsmitglieder nicht daran gehindert, persönliche Gegenstände oder elektronische Geräte, die Lithium-Zellen oder -Batterien enthalten, an Bord von Flugzeugen mitzubringen oder den Lufttransport von Lithium-Ionen-Zellen oder -Batterien einzuschränken, wenn diese mit Ausrüstung verpackt oder darin enthalten sind.                

Erfahren Sie mehr über unsere Lithium-Batterie-Lösungen

Diese Website enthält Links zu anderen Websites Dritter. Solche Links dienen nur der Bequemlichkeit des Lesers, Benutzers oder Browsers; CHEMTREC, LLC empfiehlt oder billigt die Inhalte der Websites Dritter nicht.

Die auf dieser Website bereitgestellten Informationen stellen keine Rechts- oder Regulierungsberatung dar und sind auch nicht dazu bestimmt; stattdessen dienen alle auf dieser Site verfügbaren Informationen, Inhalte und Materialien nur allgemeinen Informationszwecken. Obwohl CHEMTREC bemüht ist, diese Informationen aktuell zu halten, stellen die Informationen auf dieser Website möglicherweise nicht die aktuellsten rechtlichen oder behördlichen Informationen dar. Leser dieser Website sollten sich an ihren Anwalt oder Regulierungsexperten wenden, um sich in einer bestimmten Angelegenheit beraten zu lassen. Jegliche Haftung in Bezug auf Handlungen, die aufgrund der Inhalte dieser Site vorgenommen oder unterlassen wurden, wird hiermit ausdrücklich abgelehnt.

    Fordern Sie ein Angebot an

    Erhalten Sie einen Kostenvoranschlag für CHEMTREC-Antwortdienste.

    Starten Sie ein Angebot

Skip to main content

Dangerous Goods Regulations: Changes and Updates

Regulatory Updates

ER Guide V2

 

 

Global Regulatory Requirements for Emergency Response Telephone Numbers Guide

Download Your Copy

 

Shipping to Mexico Guide V2

 

 

 

Shipping to Mexico Guide

Download Your Copy

 

U.S. Postal Service issues Final Rule for Shipping Electronic Devices Containing Lithium Batteries and Other Hazmat – November 30, 2022

On November 30, 2022, the United States Postal Service (USPS) published a Final Rule revising its Hazmat Postal Regulations, Publication 52, covering used, damaged, or defective electronic devices containing or packed with lithium batteries. The USPS is limiting the mailing of these products to surface transportation only and are prohibited from being mailed via airfreight. These packages must be marked “Restricted Electronic Device” and "Surface Transportation Only", in addition to all other required markings and labels. This change takes effect immediately. This prohibition does not apply to new devices in original packaging or manufactured certified new/refurbished devices. USPS cites a consistent increase in incidents involving packages being offered for air transport containing used/defective lithium batteries that have not been properly packaged and labeled. The new restrictions in Pub 52 are designed to protect the safety of the public as well as USPS employees.  

Learn How CRITERION by CHEMTREC Can Help

IATA Significant Changes and Amendments in the 64th Edition (2023)

The lithium battery mark has been revised to remove the requirement for a telephone number to be provided on the mark. There is a transition period until December 31, 2026 during which time the mark shown in the 63rd edition of the DGR may continue to be used.

Learn More About Our Lithium Battery Shipping Service

PHMSA Request for Information (RFI) on Electronic Hazard Communication Alternatives – July 11, 2022

On July 11, 2022, the DOT Pipeline and Hazardous Materials Safety Administration published a Request for Information (RFI) on Electronic Hazard Communication Alternatives. PHMSA is seeking input on the potential use of electronic communications as an alternative to the current, physical documentation requirements for hazard communication. PHMSA anticipates that electronic communication would improve transportation safety, efficiency, and effectiveness by providing electronic access to the same information as currently required under paper documentation.

Comments were due into the Federal Docket by October 24, 2022. To see all comments received go to: Hazardous Materials: Request for Information on Electronic Hazard Communication Alternatives; Extension of Comment Period | PHMSA (dot.gov)

Learn About Our Hazmat Emergency Response Services

PHMSA Safety Advisory Notice for the Disposal and Recycling of Lithium Batteries in Commercial Transportation - May 17, 2022

On May 17, 2022, PHMSA issued a Safety Advisory Notice about the dangers related to shipping lithium batteries for recycling or disposal to increase the public’s overall awareness.  PHMSA states that it’s hazardous materials investigators routinely saw shippers and carriers improperly package and ship lithium batteries for disposal or recycling. Such dangers included the improper packaging of lithium batteries as not to prevent short circuits, mixing damaged lithium batteries with other batteries in the same packaging, and shipping pallet loads of batteries in boxes and drums with inappropriate identification of package contents.

Learn About Our Lithium Battery Solutions

Lithium Battery UN 38.3 Test Summaries - January 1, 2022

PHMSA, Hazardous Materials Regulations (HMR; 49 C.F.R., Parts 171-180). Final Rule, May 11, 2020.

Effective January 1, 2022, for lithium cells and batteries being offered for transport, manufacturers must make available a test summary upon request. The test summary must include a list of specific elements based on the results of the test report outlined under section 38.3 of the UN Manual of Tests and Criteria. This requirement includes all cells and batteries manufactured after January 1, 2008. This PHMSA rule differs from international requirements in two ways. First, it covers batteries manufactured after Jan. 1, 2008, whereas UN 38.3 goes back to 2003. The other difference is the compliance date. PHMSA extended their compliance date from 2020 to January 2022.

Learn How CRITERION by CHEMTREC Can Help

Changes to Packing Instructions for Lithium Cells and Batteries - January 2022

IATA Dangerous Goods Regulations (DGR), 63rd Edition (2022)

Starting January 2022, packing instructions 965 and 968 have been revised to remove Section II. Small lithium ion and lithium metal batteries and cells will be packaged in accordance with Section IB of Packing Instruction 965 and Packing Instruction 968, as applicable. There is a 3-month transition period to March 31, 2022, to comply with this change. During which time shippers may continue to use Section II.

Learn About Our Lithium Battery Solutions

New International Safety Guidelines for Warehouse Storage of Dangerous Goods in Preparation for Sea-Transport - December 2021

In response to recent warehouse incidents involving improper storage of dangerous goods, including Tianjin, China (2015) and Beirut, Lebanon (2020), a coalition of organizations including ICHCA, IVODGA, National Cargo Bureau, and the World Shipping Council has published a guidance document in the form of a White Paper in December 2021. The document covers topics on warehouse construction, operations, fire protection, security and emergency response and has been endorsed by industry stakeholders such as port operators, insurance companies and associations. It has also been submitted to maritime regulators and the IMO for consideration to be included in international requirements.

Learn About Our Hazmat General, Safety and Security Awareness Online Training Course

TSA Announces 100% Screening of International All-Cargo Flights - June 30, 2021

On June 30, 2021, TSA announced that all Importers, Exporters, Carriers, and Freight Forwarders must comply with the ICAO security requirements for 100% screening of all international all-cargo flights. Requirements include screening of cargo to identify and/or detect hidden explosives and institute supply chain security controls that prevent the introduction of concealed explosives into air cargo. This rule is not new and has been in effect for cargo on commercial passenger aircraft since 2010. As a result,  on June 14, 2021, TSA published Federal Register Notice 86, No 112 FR 31512, announcing the Secured Packing Facility (SPF) program. 

Learn About Our Dangerous Goods IATA Training for Air Transportation Online Course

OSHA Interpretation Regarding Lithium-Ion Batteries as Articles - June 23, 2021

OSHA Hazard Communications Standard, 29 CFR 1910.1200. Letter of Interpretation dated June 23, 2021.

On June 23, 2021, OSHA published an Interpretation Letter responding to the European Portable Battery Association providing clarification that it does not consider lithium-ion batteries to be "articles" under the Hazard Communications Standard (HCS) and are therefore not exempt from the requirement for a Safety Data Sheet. OSHA has stated that it based its decision on public and government information sources showing that lithium-ion battery failure can present a fire/physical hazard and a toxic exposure hazard (e.g., lithium, cobalt) to workers during normal use and foreseeable emergencies.

Learn About Our OSHA Hazard Communication Standard Online Training Course

Lithium Batteries as Cargo on Passenger Aircraft, State of Charge and Alternative Packaging Provisions - March 6, 2019

PHMSA Interim Final Rule, March 6, 2019.         

This interim final rule (IFR) which becomes effective immediately amends the HMR to (1) prohibit the transport of lithium-ion cells and batteries as cargo on passenger aircraft; (2) requires all lithium ion cells and batteries to be shipped at not more than a 30 % state of charge on cargo-only aircraft; and (3) limits the use of alternative provisions for small lithium cell or batteries to one package per consignment. The amendments will not restrict passengers or crew members from bringing personal items or electronic devices containing lithium cells or batteries aboard aircraft or restrict the air transport of lithium-ion cells or batteries when packed with or contained in equipment.                

Learn About Our Lithium Battery Solutions

This website contains links to other third-party websites. Such links are only for the convenience of the reader, user or browser; CHEMTREC, LLC does not recommend or endorse the contents of the third-party sites.

The information provided on this website does not, and is not intended to, constitute legal or regulatory advice; instead, all information, content, and materials available on this site are for general information purposes only. While CHEMTREC strives to keep this information current, information on this website may not constitute the most up-to-date legal or regulatory information. Readers of this website should contact their attorney or regulatory expert to obtain advice with respect to any particular matter. All liability with respect to actions taken or not taken based on the contents of this site are hereby expressly disclaimed.

    Request A Quote

    Get an estimate for CHEMTREC response services.

    Start A Quote