Skip to main content


Awards and scholarships for the responder community.

Awards and Scholarships

At CHEMTREC®, we recognize that the first responder community is critical to hazmat response and we remain dedicated to working closely and effectively with responders when an incident occurs, as we have proudly supported them for the past 50+ years. CHEMTREC is delighted to offer multiple awards and scholarship opportunities. These awards and scholarships represent our appreciation of volunteer firefighters and hazmat responders and will continue to be an ongoing reminder of our commitment to them for years to come.


CHEMTREC partners with the National Volunteer Fire Council (NVFC) on an annual basis to provide the HELP Award to three volunteer fire departments in the U.S. that are also members of the NVFC.


Hazmat Scholarship Award

In partnership with Emery & Associates, CHEMTREC is pleased to offer four scholarships to support knowledge sharing, networking with peers, and expanding education opportunities for hazmat team members, CHEMTREC is sponsoring four scholarships to attend the 2023 Midwest Hazmat Conference hosted by Emery & Associates in Northbrook, IL on May 4-6, 2023.


Past Hazmat Scholarship Award Recipients


  • Amy Gray Schaefer, Covington Fire Department (KY)
  • Daniel Podlogar, Stark County HAZMAT/Massillon Department (OH)
  • Jacob Elder, Godfrey Fire District (IL)
  • Joshua Shuttlesworth, Triune-Halleck Volunteer Fire Department /Monongalia County Hazardous Incident Response Team/WV Regional Response Team (WV)

HMIC “Hazmat Officer of the Year” and “Hazmat Instructor of the Year”

In partnership with Hazard3, CHEMTREC offers two scholarships to attend the Hazardous Materials Instructors and Commanders (HMIC) Conference for the recipients of the “Hazmat Officer of the Year” and “Hazmat Instructor of the Year” awards. Additionally, CHEMTREC sponsors the Leadership Breakfast at the conference on an annual basis. The next HMIC Conference will be held in Fort Lauderdale, FL on November 13-15, 2023.

More Details and Application Coming Soon!

Past HMIC Award Recipients


  • Hazmat Officer of the Year Captain Casey Simon, Milwaukee Fire Department
Hazmat Officer of the Year 2022

From Left to Right: Erica Bernstein (CHEMTREC), Joe Milazzo (CHEMTREC), Captain Casey Simon (Milwaukee Fire Department), Gary Sharp (Hazard3), and Dr. Christina Baxter (Hazard3).

  • Hazmat Instructor of the Year - Tyler Hoke, Greensboro Fire Department
Hazmat Instructor of the Year 2022 v2

From Left to Right: Erica Bernstein (CHEMTREC), Joe Milazzo (CHEMTREC), Tyler Hoke (Greensboro Fire Department), Dr. Christina Baxter (Hazard3), and Gary Sharp (Hazard3).