跳到主要内容

恭喜2020年HELP奖获得者!

祝贺新约翰逊维尔消防局(田纳西州新约翰逊维尔)和2号水巫婆软管公司(康涅狄格州新米尔福德)荣获2020 CHEMTREC HELP大奖!
缩图

关于帮助奖

CHEMTREC®是危险材料事故期间24/7呼叫中心支持和信息的全球领先来源。 在将近50年的时间里,我们与世界各地应急人员的互动一直是推动我们取得成功的引擎。 鉴于这种关系,CHEMTREC已与 国家志愿消防委员会 (NVFC)奖励10,000美元给美国的五个自愿消防部门,这些部门也是NVFC的成员。 该奖项旨在帮助消防部门增强其应对能力,并增强当地应对和应对危险材料事件的准备。

作为CHEMTREC 50周年庆典的一部分,50,000年将为CHEMTREC HELP大奖提供2021美元。

标准

为了有资格申请CHEMTREC®HELP(危险品紧急情况本地准备)奖,部门必须满足以下条件:

  • 由超过50%的志愿者组成
  • 为25,000以下的人口服务
  • 美国财政部最近完成的财政年度的资金不得超过250,000美元
    • 如果志愿消防部门合并为城市消防部门,则志愿消防部门必须是单独的501(c)组织,并分别维护其财务状况才有资格获得HELP奖。
    • 资金需求包括志愿者消防部门收到的所有资金,无论是来自市/县/镇的预算/税收资金,筹款,社区捐赠,订阅,EMS服务/收入回收还是其他来源。
    • 超过250,000万美元门槛的唯一例外是,如果该部门在最近完成的会计年度中获得了一笔一次性拨款,将其设置为超过250,000万美元的上限,则他们需要披露其资助水平。 前连续3年显示该部门的总收入通常每年低于250,000万美元。
  • 位于美国并根据州法律进行合法组织
  • 代表部门申请的主管或个人必须是NVFC的成员。 了解会员福利并加入 www.nvfc.org/join
  • 在申请论文中通过描述部门将购买的设备,资源和/或培训和/或他们将参加的培训以提高他们对危险材料事件的响应能力,并说明潜在的危险来说明他们获得奖项的需要他们所在社区可能发生的重大事件
  • 每个部门只接受一份申请。 在奖励年度内该部门收到的任何后续申请将被取消资格。 过去获得“帮助”奖的获奖者必须等待五年才能重新申请该奖。
  • 获得奖励的部门必须使用这笔钱来提高其部门的危险品响应能力,而不能用于任何其他目的。 奖励不能重新分配。
  • 获得奖励的部门同意,CHEMTREC,TRANSCAER,美国化学理事会和NVFC可以在其媒体中使用其部门名称,申请论文的详细信息以及在奖励演示过程中拍摄的所有照片,以促进奖励计划的使用。 。 收到奖项的部门还同意CHEMTREC和NVFC进行部门访问,以在颁奖通知通知后60天内提出奖项。

选拔过程

2021年申请期 现已开放至 1 年 2021 月 XNUMX 日。 由CHEMTREC和NVFC选择的专家小组将审核申请,并将选择五个志愿消防部门,每个部门将获得10,000美元的奖励。 

立即申请!

往届获奖者

2020

新约翰逊维尔消防局(田纳西州新约翰逊维尔)

水巫婆软管公司#2(康涅狄格州新米尔福德)

2019

威洛格罗夫消防公司(新泽西州威洛格罗夫)

草原景观志愿消防协会(德克萨斯州草原景)

有关HELP奖的问题?

如果您有任何疑问,请联系Outreach总监Erica Bernstein ebernstein@chemtrec.com or 804-357-4758 .

Skip to main content

Congratulations 2020 HELP Award Recipients!

Congratulations to the New Johnsonville Fire Department (New Johnsonville, TN) and Water Witch Hose Company #2 (New Milford, CT) on receiving the 2020 CHEMTREC HELP Award!
Thumbnail

About the HELP Award

CHEMTREC® is the world’s leading source of 24/7 call center support and information during hazardous materials incidents. For nearly 50 years, our engagement with emergency responders around the world has been the engine that drives our success. In light of that relationship, CHEMTREC has partnered with the National Volunteer Fire Council (NVFC) to award $10,000 to five volunteer fire departments in the U.S. that are also members of the NVFC. The awards are intended to help the fire departments enhance their response capabilities and increase local preparedness to respond to and prepare for hazardous materials incidents.

As part of CHEMTREC’s 50th Anniversary celebration $50,000 will be provided in 2021 for the CHEMTREC HELP Awards.

Criteria

To be eligible to apply for the CHEMTREC® HELP (Hazmat Emergencies Local Preparedness) Award, departments must meet the following criteria:

  • Be over 50% volunteer
  • Serve a population of 25,000 or less
  • Annual income must not exceed $250,000 for the most recently completed fiscal year
    • If the volunteer fire department is incorporated within a city fire department, the volunteer fire department must be a separate 501(c) organization and maintain their finances separately to qualify for the HELP Award.
    • The income requirement is for all funding the volunteer fire department receives, whether it is from the city/county/town budget/tax funding, fundraising, community donations, subscriptions, EMS service/revenue recovery, or other funds received.
      • The only exception to exceeding the $250,000 is if the department received a one-time grant in the most recently completed fiscal year that would set them over the $250,000, then they are required to enter 3 additional years showing the department’s total income is normally below $250,000 annually.
  • Be located in the United States and legally organized under state law
  • Chief or individual applying on behalf of the department must be a member of the NVFC. Learn about member benefits and join at www.nvfc.org/join
  • Demonstrate in the application essay their need to receive the award by describing the equipment, resources, and/or training the department would purchase and/or the training they would attend to increase their response capabilities for hazardous materials incidents, as well explaining the potential hazardous materials incidents that could occur in their community
  • Only one application will be accepted per department. Any subsequent applications received for that department during the award year will be disqualified. Past recipients of the HELP Award must wait five years before reapplying for the award.
  • Departments that receive the award must use the money to increase their department’s hazmat response capabilities and not for any other purpose. The award cannot be redistributed.
  • Departments that receive the award agree that their department name, details from their application essay, and all photos taken during the award presentation may be used in media by CHEMTREC, TRANSCAER, American Chemistry Council, and the NVFC for the purposes of promoting the award program. The departments who receive the awards also agree to a department visit by CHEMTREC and the NVFC for the award presentation within 60 days of notification of the announcement of the award.

Selection Process

The 2021 application period will open June 1. An expert panel selected by CHEMTREC & the NVFC will review the applications and five volunteer fire departments will be selected to each receive a $10,000 award. 

Past Award Recipients

2020

New Johnsonville Fire Department (New Johnsonville, TN)

Water Witch Hose Company #2 (New Milford, CT)

2019

Willow Grove Fire Company (Willow Grove, NJ)

Prairie View Volunteer Firefighting Association (Prairie View, TX)

Questions about the HELP Award?

If you have any questions, please contact Erica Bernstein, Director - Outreach, at ebernstein@chemtrec.com or 804-357-4758.